طباعة
قصة بضمير المتكلّم |مجموعة خفية تحدث ثورة في المشهد الإعلامي اللبناني

ميغافون @ أرشيفها الخاص

قرّروا أن يبقوا مجهولي الهوية. مجموعة من الأصدقاء الذين قرّروا الاجتماع لتحدّي المشهد الإعلامي القائم في لبنان. تعرّفوا على ميغافون، "مجموعة خفية" تهدف إلى إيجاد مساحة لخطابٍ جديدٍ يتحدّى النظام السياسي والاجتماعي الاقتصادي المحيط.

السباحة عكس التيار

تطغى الألوان الداكنة على صورة المشهد الإعلامي في لبنان. فكثرة وسائل الإعلام اللبنانية لا تعكس تعدّداً أكبر للآراء حيث أن غالبية الوسائل مرتبطة بفاعلين سياسيين أو طائفيين. وبالتالي لا يتعرّض الصحفيون لضغط كبير ورقابة هائلة فحسب إنما يواجهون غالباً تهديدات حقيقة وترهيباً فعلياً.

بالنسبة إلى مجموعة من الناشطين الشباب، لم يكن هذا الوضع القائم مقبولاً. فقد راح إحباطهم بالتفاقم هم المشاركين في أشكال متنوعة من النشاط المدني على الأرض، مع الغياب التام للخطاب العام الذي ينقل صوت جيلهم.

جمال وجان، إثنان من المشاركين في تأسيس ميغافون، لا يريدان أن يبدوا سخيفَين عند الإشارة إلى دافعهما أي "الحاجة" و"الواجب" في السعي إلى التغيير.

يقول جمال في هذا الصدد "لاحظنا أن الإعلام التقليدي لا يتحدّث لغتنا وأن قصصنا بقيت غير محكية. لم يكن هناك من مساحة حيث يمكننا قول ما نريد والتحدث عن همومنا والتعبير عن قيمنا. لذا قرّرنا أن نسرد القصص من وجهة نظرنا." ويضيف جان: "إننا نشعر بالانعزال. فالإعلام التقليدي وحتى بعض مجموعات المجتمع المدني الراسخة تتجنب بحذر غالبية قضايا حقوق الإنسان والمواضيع المستقطبة الأخرى لأنها تخشى الذهاب إلى أماكن قد تجعلها تخسر شعبيتها مثل تناول حقوق اللاجئين السوريين والفلسطيين أو حقوق عاملي المنازل المهاجرين أو حقوق مجتمع الميم."

في ما يتعلق بمنحة المؤسسة الأوروبية من أجل الديمقراطية التي ساهمت في إطلاق ميغافون يقول جمال "ما نحبه هو أنكم أعطيتمونا الكثير من المرونة والدعم، ولم نكن بحاجة إلى الترويج لكم طيلة الوقت- يمكن اقتباسي حرفياً هنا."

جميع أعضاء المجموعة أصدقاء ومتطوّعون. أما جمال وهو الروح المبدعة وراء هذه المبادرة فهو مصمّم جرافيك بدوام كامل، بينما يعمل جان في منظمة غير حكومية دولية بارزة. حافظ كافة أفراد الفريق على وظائفهم اليومية وهم يجتمعون خارج ساعات الدوام للعمل على ميغافون.

لا شك أن كفاحهم لأجل واقع أكثر تقدمية يعكس المعضلة التي يواجهها جيل ما بعد الحرب في لبنان، فيقول جان بصراحة "أشعر أنني أهتم لأمر هذا البلد ولا يسعني البقاء مكتوف اليدين طالما أنا أعيش فيه."

التميّز

ميغافون عبارة عن قناة إعلامية إلكترونية تحلّل وتعلّق وتشرح الأخبار المحلية.وهي تروّج للصحافة النقدية والمحترفة والمستندة إلى الوقائع.  ما يميّزها هو الألوان الصارخة وفيديوهات السناب والتعليقات التي تدفع إلى التفكير وتتناول مسائل جدلية.

جاءت هذه المقاربة المبتكرة استجابة لقِدَم المشهد الإعلامي المحلي. فبينما يستهلك الشعب اللبناني الكثير من الإعلام الرقمي المبتكر الذي يغطي الأخبار الدولي، لم يكن لهذا النوع من الإعلام اي مثيل في لبنان. يشرح الثنائي "شعرنا أننا سنقدّم إضافة جيدة عبر إنتاج فيديوهات وسمعيات إخبارية تخاطب جيلنا."

ويقرّان أنه عبر استخدام فيسبوك وتويتر ويوتوب وإنستغرام تصبح منتجاتهم أكثر جاذبية للحضور الشاب. لكن ربما هي كذلك طريقة لمخاطبة الأجيال الأكبر أيضاً بما أن الشباب يأخذون نقاشاتهم الحيوية إلى طاولة العائلة. خذ وتُعتبَر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي المكان الأمثل لهضم الأخبار وإنتاج الملخصات الموجزة مستهدفةً بذلك من لا يهتم بقراءة مقالات أكثر تفصيلاً.

يزعم أعضاء ميغافون أن الحضور بحاجة إلى بدائل سياسية أكثر اختلافاً واطّلاعاً وهذا ما يجبر بالإعلام الترويج له بحرية. تمت الإشادة بالوسيلة الإعلامية اليافعة لتغطيتها انتخابات عام 2018 حيث أمّنت مساحة للخيارات السياسية البديلة التي لم تُمنَح فسحة واحدة في القنوات العادية. "وصل الأمر إلى أن المرشحين راحوا يتصلون بنا ويطلبون إجراء مقابلة معهم، أما نحن فقلنا لهم "هل أنتم واثقون أنكم تريدون الإجابة على أسئلة حول أكثر القضايا استقطاباً في لبنان؟؟" يضحك جان.

مما لا شك فيه أن تغطية ميغافون للانتخابات تجاوزت السياسة، ففي اليوم الذي توجّه فيه اللبنانيون إلى صناديق الاقتراع، نزلت المجموعة إلى الشارع لسؤال الناس لماذا (لا) ينتخبون. ويشرح جمال "ليست القصة بهذه البساطة. فنح نحاول أن نفهم البلد أبعد من العاصمة، كيف يفكّر الناس وكيف يتّخذون قراراتهم."

مهمّة غير مستحيلة

تؤدي ميغافون بنجاح دور النشاط المدني والصحافة. فهم يقرّون "لدينا أجندة، وهي تقضي بتعزيز مساواة الحقوق والعدالة الاجتماعية والحريات المدنية للمواطنين وغير المواطنين في لبنان وبمساءلة النظام."

تتمثل رؤية جان بالانتقال من مجتمع لا يقر سوى بالطوائف إلى مجتمع يحترم الأفراد ويؤمن بالحقوق المتساوية للجميع، ويشير بالنسبة إلى هذا الموضوع "ما يمكن للإعلام فعله لتحقيق هذا الهدف هو ترسيخ خطاب جديد وإثارة نقاش أوسع."

يبقى اندفاع المجموعة لتغيير الخطاب السائد كبيراً، إذ يتفق أفرادها على أنهم يؤثرون القيام بذلك على أي أمر آخر، فخطتهم للمستقبل هي التركيز على ميغافون.

يعترف جمال أن نجاح ميغافون الأصلي كان غامراً قليلاً. بالنسبة إلى الخطوات التالية، يتمثل التحدي الأكبر في إنشاء نموذج أعمال على طريق الاستدامة، فالفريق مقتنع أن التكوين الفريد للبلد – البحوث مع الإبداع – سيمكّنه من تحقيق ذلك.

على الرغم من العقبات التي يواجهها الصحفيون في المساحة الآخذة بالتراجع من ترهيب وتهديد، فهم يعتزمون على المضي قدماً وعلى الكفاح لأجل المثل العليا التي يؤمنون بها.

"هذه هي آليتنا للتكيّف – نحن نقاوم حقيقة لا تشبهنا عبر خلق حقيقة خاصة بنا."

بقلم جوانا ناهورسكا

إخلاء مسؤولية: هذا المقال يعكس آراء الجهة الحائزة على المنحة ولا يمثل بالضرورة الرأي الرسمي للمؤسسة الأوروبية من أجل الديمقراطية.

 المزيد: وصف المبادرة

Print
FirstPersonStory | A Hidden Collective Revolutionising the Lebanese Media Landscape
Megaphone @ Own archive

 

They choose to stay anonymous. A group of friends who have decided to get together to challenge the existing media landscape in Lebanon. Meet Megaphone, a “hidden collective” whose mission is to create space for a new discourse that defies the surrounding political and socioeconomic system.

Going against the current

The picture of the media environment in Lebanon is painted in rather gloomy colours. A wide range of Lebanese media does not translate into a greater plurality of opinions, as most outlets are linked to political or sectarian actors. Journalists are not only exposed to immense pressure and censorship, but also worryingly often face actual threats and intimidation.

This status quo was not acceptable for a group of young activists. Engaged in various forms of civic action on the ground, they had been growing increasingly frustrated, as public discourse resounding the voice of their generation was nowhere to be found.

Jamal and Jean, two of Megaphone’s co-founders, do not want to sound cheesy when referring to their motivation - “need” and “obligation” to strive for change.

“We noticed that mainstream media didn’t speak our language, that our narratives remained untold. There was no space where we could say what we wanted to say, speak about our worries and express our values. So we decided to tell the stories from our point of view,” says Jamal.

“We felt alienated,” adds Jean. “Most of the human rights issues and other polarising topics were being carefully avoided by mainstream media, and even some established civil society collectives. They were all afraid to go to places that might make them lose their popularity, such as the rights of Syrian and Palestinian refugees, migrant domestic workers or LGBTQ people.”

Talking about the EED grant that contributed to the launch of Megaphone, Jamal states, “We love the fact that you gave us loads of flexibility and support, we didn’t need to promote you all the time – you can quote me on this.”

All of the collective’s members are good friends and volunteers. Jamal, the creative spirit behind the initiative, is a full-time graphic designer. Jean works as a campaigner for a prominent INGO. The entire team has kept their daily jobs and gathers outside the office hours to work on Megaphone.

Fuelled by a lot of personal involvement and passion, their struggle for a more progressive reality also mirrors the dilemma faced by Lebanon’s post-war generation: “I feel concerned by this country and I cannot remain inactive as long as I’m living here,” Jean states bluntly.

Standing out from the crowd

Megaphone is an online media channel that analyses, comments on and explains local news. It promotes critical, professional and fact-based journalism. The flashy colours, snap videos and thought-provoking commentary touching upon controversial issues make it stand out among the crowd.

This innovative approach was a response to the obsoleteness of the local media landscape. While the Lebanese population consumes a lot of innovative digital media covering international news, there was no equivalent available in Lebanon. “We felt we might offer a good addition by producing informative videos and visuals that speak to the generation we are from,” explains the duo.

Using Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and Instagram, they admit their product appeals mostly to a younger audience. But arguably it is a way to speak to older generations too, as engaged youth bring vivid discussions back to their family tables. Social media formats also serve as the perfect place to digest the news and produce brief summaries, targeting those who lack interest in consuming more elaborate articles.

The Megaphoners claim that audiences need more nuanced and informed political alternatives, which media should be able to promote freely. The young outlet was widely praised for their 2018 elections coverage, providing space for alternative politicians who were not granted a single spot in the mainstream channels. “It went as far as the candidates calling us and asking for an interview; and we were like, 'Are you sure you wanna answer questions on Lebanon’s most polarising issues?!,'” laughs Jean.

But their coverage around elections went far beyond politics. The day Lebanon went to the polls, the collective hit the road to ask people why they (don’t) vote. “There is more to the story,” explains Jamal. “We are also trying to understand the country beyond its capital city, how people think and how they make decisions.”

Mission possible

Megaphone successfully wears a double hat of activism and journalism. “We have an agenda,” they admit. “Our agenda is promoting equality of rights, social justice and civil liberties for both citizens and non-citizens in Lebanon, and holding the establishment accountable.”

Jean’s vision is to move from a society that only acknowledges sects to a society that respects individuals and believes in everyone’s equal rights: “What media can do towards this goal is to anchor a new discourse and trigger a wider debate,” he points out.

As a group, their motivation to change the dominant discourse remains high. They unanimously agree they would rather be doing this than anything else – their plan for the future is to do Megaphone.

Jamal admits the initial success of Megaphone was a bit overwhelming. Looking to the next steps, the biggest challenge is creating a business model on the road to sustainability. They are convinced the unique setup for the country – research plus creativity – will allow them to do so.

Despite the obstacles faced in the shrinking space where journalists are intimidated, they are determined to go forward and fight for the ideals they believe in.

“This is our coping mechanism – we resist a reality that does not resemble us by creating our own.”

By Joanna Nahorska

Disclaimer: This article reflects the views of the grantee featured and does not necessarily represent official opinion of the European Endowment for Democracy (EED).

More: Initiative description