طباعة
قصة بضمير المتكلّم |محامٍ تركي يحارب في المحاكم لحماية حرية التعبير

يامان أكدنير @ أرشيفه الخاص

يستخدم أستاذ في قانون حقوق الإنسان وقانون الإنترنت النظام القانون لمحاربة حجب الإنترنت وقضايا حرية التعبير ذات الدوافع السياسية في تركيا.

عندما نتمكّن أخيراً من التواصل عبر الهاتف، يعتذر يامان أكدنيز، أستاذ القانون التركي مني فهو قد أمضى النهار يجول في اسطنبول ويزور مكاتب محتملة لمنظمته غير الحكومية الجديدة إلا أن جهوده لم تؤتي بثمارها حتى الآن. ويشرح "لا يحب الملّاك في تركيا تأجير الجمعيات. فهم أولاً يخافون من اسمنا – جمعية حرية التعبير – وثانياً، لدى الجمعيات سمعة سيئة بأنها لا تدفع الإيجار."

على الرغم من أن الإعلام لطالما واجه مشاكل في تركيا، لربما من المفاجئ أن تكون خبرة أكدنيز في الموضوع نابعة من إقامته 16 عاماً في المملكة المتحدة حيث أتم دراسته وبدأ مسيرة مهنية أكاديمية ليصبح محاضراً رئيساً في جامعة ليدز، كما صار من البارزين في مجال حرية التعبير على الإنترنت وظهر كخبير أمام لجنة تحقيق في مجلس العموم عام 1999 في ما يتعلق بمقترحات الحكومة البريطانية حول سياسة التشفير الخاصة بها بصفته مدير منظمة Cyber-Rights.Org المنظمة غير الحكومية الأولى له التي أنشأها في المملكة المتحدة. ومنذ ذلك الحين، استعانت بخبرته منظمات دولية متنوعة بما فيها البرلمان الأوروبي، مكتب المفوضية السامية لحقوق الإنسان (UNHCR) وممثل منظمة الأمن والتعاون في أوروبا (OSCE) حول حرية الإعلام.

أزمة منتصف العمر؟

يمازح أكدنيز قائلاً إن أزمة منتصف العمر أعادته إلى تركيا عام 2009 وكان عمره 41 سنة، وفي تركيا استأنف مهنته الأكاديمية كأستاذ قانون في جامعة اسطنبول بلجي وسرعان ما صار مشاركاً في الدعاوى القضائية المتعلقة بحجب الإنترنت.

تمحورت قضيته الأولى التي وصل بها إلى المحكمة الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان، وإن من دون نجاح، حول حجب النفاذ إلى موقعي MySpace وLast.fm. وتبعت هذه القضية دعاوى كثيرة أخرى لأشخاص تم حجب مواقعهم الإلكتروني، بمن فيهم عالم الأحياء التطوري المعروف ريتشارد دوكينز.

أدى استئنافه مع زميله كرم ألتيبرماك أمام المحكمة الدستورية التركية إلى إيقاف حجب النفاذ إلى تويتر في نيسان/ أبريل 2014 وإيقاب حجب النفاذ إلى يوتوب في أيار/ مايو 2014. في شهر كانون الأول/ ديسمبر 2015، فاز أكدنيز وزملاؤه بطلب على مستوى المحكمة الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان حول حجب النفاذ إلى يوتوب من تركيا بين عامَي 2008 و2010. وقد مُنح أكدنيز وزميله عام 2016 جائزة حرية التعبير العالمي من جامعة كولومبيا تكريماً لجهودهما في قضية اليوتوب.

على مدار السنوات الخمس الماضية، عمل أكدنيز وألتيبرماك على أكثر من 300 دعوى من خلال مشروع في جامعة أكدنيز، علماً أن نصف هذه الدعاوى تقريباً هي دعاوى حجب إنترنت والنصف الآخر يتعلق بالدفاع عن أفراد يواجهون تهماً جنائية لقدح الرئيس التركي أو المسؤولين والسلطات الرسمية، وتهماً مرتبطة بترويح الرعب، فضلاً عن أربع دعاوى لصحفيين تم توقيفهم عقب محاولة الانقلاب ويواجهون تهماً إرهابية. ويعتبر أكدنيز وألتيبرماك جميع هذه القضايا قضايا خطاب سياسي.

حينما قرّر الزميلان أنه آن الأوان لإطلاق منظمة غير حكومية متفانية، كانت المؤسسة الأوروبية من أجل الديمقراطية أول من قدّم التمويل، حيث زوّدتهما بمنحة لتغطية التكاليف التشغيلية في المرحلة الأولية ريثما يحصلان على دعم جهات مانحة أخرى، وهو ليس بالأمر السهل في مجال العمل هذا لا سيما ضمن تركيا حسبما يقول أكدنيز.

على استعداد لبذل الكثير من الجهد والوقت

إنه مشروع طويل الأمد أي أخذ دعاوى من هذا النوع إلى المحاكم علماً أن عمليات الاستئناف في تركيا تستغرق عادة ثلاث إلى أربع سنوات مع فترة انتظار أخرى لمدة خمس سنوات إذا وصلت إلى المحكمة الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان. وهذا أحد الأسباب الذي دفع أكدنيز وألتيبرماك إلى توجيه وتدريب محامين شباب. "لا يمكننا أن نستمر بهذا الأمر إلى الأبد، نحن بحاجة إلى دم جديد."

مع حملة التطهير التي تشنها الحكومة على أكاديميين ووسائل إعلامية منذ محاولة الانقلاب الفاشلة عام 2016، يمكن رؤية هذا النوع من العمل على أنه خطير. ويصرّح أكدنيز "يوجد دوماً هذا الخطر. لكننا نقوم بكل شيء حسب القانون، ولا نفعل الكثير على شكل نشاط سياسي."

وهذا تمييز بالغة الأهمية، إذ يشير أكدنيز إلى أنه في العقود الأخيرة، حصلت نقلة من حالة قتل الصحفيين وتعذيبهم التي كانت مسيطرة في الثمانينيات والتسعينيات إلى محاولة السلطات إعاقة إعلام المعارضة ضمن حدود القانون، الأمر الذي يعني أنه يجاريهم في لعبتهم، ويطعن من دول كلل في كل قرار. والأرقام خير دليل على ذلك. فبين عامي 2015 و2017، حصل نحو 60 ألف تحقيق جنائي وأكثر من 12 ألف محاكمة تتعلق فقط بقدح الرئيس، هذا فضلاً عن أكثر من 612 ألف تحقيق في العضوية في منظمات إرهابية منذ محاولة الانقلاب الفاشلة. يتم حالياً حجب ما يزيد على 220ألف موقع إلكتروني و150 ألف رابط URL من تركيا بما في ذلك موقع ويكيبيديا منذ شهر نيسان/أبريل 2017، وهو ما تقدّم الزميلان بطلب بشأنه أمام المحكمة الدستورية.

كتابة التاريخ

يقول أكدنيز "لستُ متفائلاً كثيراً بالوضع في تركيا غير أن ذلك لا يعني أنه لا ينبغي أن نحارب"، ويضيف "لسنا نقوم بذلك لكي نفوز، بل نحن نكتب جزءاً من التاريخ. ستكون الوقائع هناك، ما تم حجبه، من قبل من، ومن جرت محاكمته ولأي سبب. إننا نحاول توثيق أهم الانتهاكات لحرية التعبير عن طريق المقاضاة."

وكل دعوى يعملان عليه، كل استئناف يتم رفضه، كل قرار يتم تغييره، كل حكم عن محكمة عليا لصالحهما، يستدعي الانتباه للوضع الحالي لحرية التعبير في تركيا.

منذ يومَين، أجريت مقابلة مع أكدنيز ليتولى منصب قاض تركيب في المحكمة الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان. وقد كان المنصب شاغراً طيلة العامَين الماضيَين وتم رفض الترشيحات التي تقدّمت بها تركيا نفسها ثلاث مرات حتى الآن. ويقول أكدنيز بهذا الخصوص "أتقدّم بلطب في كل مرة". وهو لا يتوقع أن يتم ترشيحه من قبل الحكومة لكنه يرى في ذلك طريقة لمواصلة الضغط على الحكومة، ويضيف "أتحدث علناً عن العملية وأنشر تغريدان عنها"، وهو أمر يبدو أن لا مرشح آخر مستعد لفعله.

Print
FirstPersonStory | Turkish Lawyer Battles through the Courts to Protect Freedom of Expression
Yaman Akdeniz @ Own archive

 

An internet and human rights law professor is using the legal system to fight against internet blocking and politically motivated freedom of expression cases in Turkey.

When we finally manage to catch up on the phone, Yaman Akdeniz, a law professor from Turkey, is apologetic – he has spent the day running around Istanbul visiting potential office space for his new NGO, but so far to no avail. “Landlords in Turkey don’t like renting to associations,” he explains. “Firstly, they are scared of our name – the Freedom of Expression Association – and secondly, associations have a bad reputation for not paying the rent.”

Although media have long faced problems in Turkey, perhaps surprisingly Akdeniz’s expertise in the subject came out of his 16 years in the UK, where he completed his studies and embarked on an academic career, progressing to Senior Lecturer at Leeds University.

Becoming a leading authority on online freedom of expression, he appeared as an expert before a select committee inquiry at the House of Commons back in 1999 about the UK Government’s proposals on its encryption policy as the director of Cyber-Rights.Org, his first NGO, set up in the UK. His expertise has since been sought by various international organisations, including the European Parliament, the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (UNHCHR) Office and the OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media.

Mid-life crisis?

It was a mid-life crisis, he jokes, that brought him back to Turkey in 2009 aged 41, where he resumed his academic career as a professor of law at Istanbul Bilgi University and quickly become involved in litigation in cases of internet blocking.

His first case, which he took all the way to the European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR) –albeit unsuccessfully – concerned the blocking of access to MySpace and Last.fm. This was followed by many other cases for people whose websites had been blocked – including renowned evolutionary biologist Richard Dawkins.

His appeal to the Turkish Constitutional Court together with his colleague Kerem Altiparmak overturned the blocking of access to Twitter in April 2014 and overturned the blocking of access to YouTube in May 2014. In December 2015, Akdeniz and his colleagues won an application at the European Court of Human Rights level on the blocking of access to YouTube from Turkey between 2008-2010. For their efforts in the YouTube case, the pair received the prestigious Columbia University Global Freedom of Expression Award in 2016.

Over the past 5 years, through a project at his university, Akdeniz and Altiparmak have taken on more than 300 cases. Around half of these cases are internet blocking cases and the other half are defending individuals who are facing criminal charges for defamation of the president of Turkey or public officials and authorities, terror propaganda related charges, as well as four cases of journalists arrested in the wake of the coup attempt facing terrorism-related charges. Akdeniz and Altiparmak regard all these as political speech cases.

When the pair decided it was time to launch a dedicated NGO, EED was the first to provide funding. A grant was awarded to cover core operational costs in the initial phase while they seek other donor support – something that is not easy to find for this area of work especially from within Turkey, says Akdeniz.

In for the long haul

It’s a long-term project – taking such cases through the courts and appeals processes in Turkey typically takes three to four years, with another five-year wait if it goes as far as the ECtHR. That’s one of the reasons that Akdeniz and Altiparmak are mentoring younger lawyers through internships. “We can’t carry this forever ourselves – we need young blood,” he says.

With academics and media increasingly targeted by a government purge since the 2016 failed coup attempt, this could be seen as a dangerous line of work. “There’s always that risk,” says Akdeniz. “But we do everything by the law. We don’t do much in the way of activism.”

It’s an important distinction: Akdeniz points out that in recent decades there has been a shift away from the murder and torture of journalists that was frequent in the 80s and 90s towards attempts by the authorities to hamper opposition media within the limits of the law. In a sense he is playing them at their own game, relentlessly challenging each decision.

And the numbers speak for themselves. Between 2015 and 2017 there were some 60,000 criminal investigations and over 12,000 prosecutions just for defaming the president of Turkey as well as over 612,000 investigations for membership to terror organisations since the failed coup-attempt. More than 220,000 websites and 150,000 URLs are currently blocked from Turkey including Wikipedia since April 2017, for which the pair also lodged an application with the Constitutional Court.

Writing history

“I’m not very optimistic about the situation in Turkey but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t fight,” says Akdeniz. “We are not doing this to win; we are writing a part of history. The facts will be there, what was blocked, by whom, who was prosecuted for what. We are trying to document key violations for freedom of expression by way of litigation”.

And each case that they take on, each appeal that is denied, each decision that is overturned and each ruling of a higher court in their favour calls attention to the current situation of freedom of expression in Turkey.

Two days earlier, Akdeniz had been interviewed for the position of the Turkish judge on the ECtHR. The post has been vacant for the past two years and Turkey’s own nominations have been rejected three times so far. “I apply every time,” he says. He doesn’t expect to be nominated by the Government, but sees this as a way of keeping up the pressure on the Government. “I openly speak about the process,” he says. “I tweet about it.” Something apparently no other candidate is willing to do.

By Sarah Crozier

Disclaimer: This article reflects the views of the grantee featured and does not necessarily represent official opinion of the European Endowment for Democracy (EED).